Research & Scholarship Governance

Research & Scholarship Governance

MRU Strategic Research Plan

Recognizing the critical role of research in meeting our mandate, Mount Royal University developed a five-year Strategic Research Plan in 2018. This inaugural planning document identified four key themes for scholarly activity:

  • Undergraduate Involvement in Research. The establishment of an undergraduate research culture at Mount Royal and the involvement of students in research activities wherever possible.
  • Community-Engaged Scholarship. To establish Mount Royal as one of the principal institutions in Canada engaging in mutually beneficial research partnerships with its external community.
  • The Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL). Mount Royal looks to become recognized across Canada and beyond for SoTL in terms of research and dissemination, application of scholarly results to teaching practices and faculty development.
  • Collaborative Research. To take advantage of Mount Royal’s longstanding highly collaborative culture and build new opportunities in and for interdisciplinary research across the University and beyond.

Research, scholarship and community engagement activity has grown significantly at MRU over the past five years and we are in the process of writing a new strategic research plan to guide us into the future. The new plan is being developed in consultation with our community and will align with the directions of the Institutional Strategic Plan and the Academic Plan


Committees 

Terms of Reference
  1. Review annually the Institution's Strategic Research Plan and provide advice on its contents, objectives, and orientation.
  2. Consider and review, as required, existing research related policies and propose new ones, if necessary, and provide advice on their content, interpretation, and implementation.
  3. Provide a forum where new research, scholarly initiatives and ideas can be discussed and reviewed in an inter-disciplinary context.
  4. Provide, through its members, an internal communication mechanism built on the existing institutional structure to broadly communicate information concerning research, funding opportunities, institutional research initiatives, and the like.
  5. Establish, as required, sub-committees to address emerging issues as they relate to research, creative, and scholarly activities and develop proposals for addressing them.
Members
Name Department Phone Email
Michael Quinn (Chair) AVP, Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement 403.440.7017 mquinn@mtroyal.ca
David Docherty MRU President, GFC Chair 403.440.6393 ddocherty@mtroyal.ca
Lesley Brown Vice-Chair, GFC, Provost and Vice-President, Academic 403.440.6858 lbrown1@mtroyal.ca
Meagan Bowler Interim University Librarian 403.440.6086 mbrowler@mtroyal.ca
Luc Carels Student Representative    
Marlena Cross Marketing and Communications 403.440.6411 mcross1@mtroyal.ca
Anupam Das Faculty of Arts 403.440.6353 adas@mtroyal.ca
Melissa Deane Manager, Office of Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement 403.440.5081 mdeane1@mtroyal.ca
Ray De Paul Institute for Innovation and Entrepreneurship 403.440.8497 rdepaul@mtroyal.ca
Danah Duke Miistakis Institute 403.440.8444 dduke@mtroyal.ca
Cynthia Gallop Chair, Human Research Ethics Board 403.440.6985 cgallop@mtroyal.ca
Tim Haney Centre for Community Disaster Research 403.440.8659 thaney@mtroyal.ca
Kendra Hart Faculty of Business and Communication Studies 403.440.8435 khart@mtroyal.ca
Michael Huston Student Affairs and Campus Life 403.440.6362 mhuston@mtroyal.ca
Sonya Jakubec Centre for Child Well-Being 403.440.6447 sjakubec@mtroyal.ca
Cari Merkley Riddell Library and Learning Centre 403.440.5068 cmerkley@mtroyal.ca
David Ohreen Faculty of ADC and GenEd 403.440.6367 dohreen@mtroyal.ca
Gwen O'Sullivan Faculty of Science and Technology 403.440.6257 gosullivan@mtroyal.ca
Jennifer Pettit Dean's Council Reprsentative 403.440.5985 jpettit@mtroyal.ca
Dwayne Sheehan GFC Member-at-Large 403.440.5148 dpsheehan@mtroyal.ca
Cordelia Snowdon Student Representative    
James Stauch Institute for Community Prosperity 403.440.7055 jstauch@mtroyal.ca
Gladys Sterenberg Faculty of Health, Community and Education 403.440.8729 gsterenberg@mtroyal.ca
Connie Van Der Byl Institute of Environmental Sustainability 403.440.5030 cvanderbyl@mtroyal.ca
Lori Wormington Finance Designate 403.440.6605 lwormington@mtroyal.ca
Michelle Yeo Institute of Scholarship of Teaching and Learning 403.440.6494 myeo@mtroyal.ca
  Research Development Officers (RDOs)    
Kathy Homer Recording Secretary 403.440.6731 khomer@mtroyal.ca

The Scholarship Review Committee (SRC) reviews all institution-wide internal grant applications, makes decisions on ranking, and provides recommendations on funding to the AVP Research. The SRC also acts as a team of topic-specialist reviewers that may be called upon by the Grants Facilitator, the Human Research Ethics Board, or individual faculty (through Research Services), to review specific portions of applications. Committee members may also be called upon to review specific types of external calls where the institution is the manager of the funds, such as through AACTI or SSHRC Institutional Grants.
Members
Name Department Phone Email
Michael Quinn (Chair) AVP, Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement 403.440.7017 mquinn@mtroyal.ca
Melissa Deane Manager, Office of Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement 403.440.5081 mdeane1@mtroyal.ca
Julia Johnson Recorder, Office of Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement 403.440.6069 jljohnson@mtroyal.ca
Carol Armstrong Science and Technology 403.440.8568 carmstrong@mtroyal.ca
Deb Bennett General Education 403.440.8892 dbennett@mtroyal.ca
Katherine Boggs Science and Technology 403.440.6645 kboggs@mtroyal.ca
Jim Fischer Bissett School of Business 403.440.6835 jfischer@mtroyal.ca
Kendra Hart Bissett School of Business 403.440.8435 khart@mtroyal.ca
Sarah Hewitt Science and Technology 403.440.8755 sahewitt@mtroyal.ca
Emily Hutchison (Sabbatical) Arts 403..440.8458 ehutchison@mtroyal.ca
Ada Jaarsma Arts 403.440.8545 ajaarsma@mtroyal.ca
Brian Jackson Riddell Library and Learning Centre 403.440.5032 bjackson@mtroyal.ca
Shannon Kell Health, Community and Education 403.440.6493 skell@mtroyal.ca
Bev Mathison Health, Community and Education 403.440.8655 blmathison@mtroyal.ca
Kenna Olsen Arts 403.440.5953 kolsen@mtroyal.ca
Joseph Osuji Health, Community and Education 403.440.6559 josuji@mtroyal.ca
Irene Shankar Arts 403.440.8661 ishankar@mtroyal.ca
Pamini Thangarajah Science and Technology 403.440.6477 pthangarajah@mtroyal.ca
Gil Wilkes Communication Studies 403.440.8523 gwilkes@mtroyal.ca
The Human Research Ethics Board (HREB) is responsible for ensuring that research applications meet the Tri-Council Policy Statement (TCPS2) involving participants, their rights and well-being. Learn more about HREB.
Members
Name Department Phone Email
Cynthia Gallop (Chair) Child Studies and Social Work 403.440.6985 cgallop@mtroyal.ca
Malinda Desjarlais (HREB Vice-Chair and Chair for SHREC and Psychology Student Research Ethics Committee) Psychology 403.440.8441 mddesjarlais@mtroyal.ca
Deb Bennett General Education 403.440.8892 dbennett@mtroyal.ca
David Cann Psychology 403.440.8541 dcann@mtroyal.ca
Lee Easton English, Languages, and Cultures 403.440.5906 leaston@mtroyal.ca
Leah Hamilton Bissett School of Business 403.440.8548 lhamilton@mtroyal.ca
Scott Hughes Education 403.440.6342 shughes@mtroyal.ca
Susan Jacoby School of Nursing and Midwifery 403.440.8430 sjacoby@mtroyal.ca
Lynne Lafave Health and Physical Education 403.440.5967 lafave@mtroyal.ca
Sinclair MacRae Humanities 403.440.6543 smacrae@mtroyal.ca
Karen Manarin English, Languages, and Cultures 403.440.7719 kmanarin@mtroyal.ca
David Ohreen General Education 403.440.8645 dohreen@mtroyal.ca
Djordje Calic Student Representative    
Stephanie Stone Diversity and Human Rights 403.440.8675 sstone@mtroyal.ca
Rachel Syme Community Member, CIHR Canadian Institutes of Health Research, University of Calgary 403.210.7204 rmsyme@ucalgary.ca
Donovan Tymchyshyn Community Member, Vecova Centre for Disability Services and Research 403.284.1121 dtymchyshyn@vecova.ca
Priscilla Wamucii Research Compliance Officer 403.440.8470 hreb@mtroyal.ca
Ad Hoc Advisors
Name Department Phone Email
Stacey Page, Chair, CHREB University of Calgary Conjoint Health Research Ethics Board (CHREB) 403.220.2763 sapage@ucalgary.ca
Michael Barr, Chief Information Officer Information Technology Advisor 403.440.7260 mbarr@mtroyal.ca
John Fisher, Director, Iniskim Centre Aboriginal Issues Advisor 403.440.5668 jfisher@mtroyal.ca
The Student Human Research Ethics Committee (SHREC) is a subcommittee of HREB that reviews course-based work that comprises of the use of human participants in minimal risk studies. Principal Investigators (course instructions) play the role of overseeing all projects within their courses and are responsible for all projects' ethical consideration if the course involves multiple sections.
Members
Name Department Phone Email
Malinda Desjarlais (Chair) Psychology 403.440.8441 mddesjaralis@mtroyal.ca
Harpreet Aulakh Economics, Justice, and Policy Studies 403.440.5907 haulakh@mtroyal.ca
 Abdul Chikhouni Bissett School of Business 403.440.6707 achikhouni@mtroyal.ca
Marty Clark Health and Physical Education 403.440.6511 mclark2@mtroyal.ca
Judy Gleeson Nursing and Midwifery 403.440.5529 jgleeson@mtroyal.ca
Brian Guthrie Child Studies and Social Work 403.440.7087 bguthrie@mtroyal.ca
Shannon Kell Health and Physical Education 403.440.6493 skell@mtroyal.ca
Bailey McCafferty Psychology (Student) 403.440.6412 bmcca469@mtroyal.ca
Monica Pauls Child Studies and Social Work 403.440.8481 mpauls@mtroyal.ca
Rachael Pettigrew Bissett School of Business 403.440.6846 rpettigrew@mtroyal.ca
Fredrick Ulmer Sociology and Anthropology 403.440.6450 fulmer@mtroyal.ca
Priscilla Wamucii Research Compliance Officer 403.440.8470 hreb@mtroyal.ca
The Animal Care Committee (ACC) supports animal-based research in accordance with the Canadian Council on Animal Care (CCAC) guidelines and policies. This committee ensures all research activities are humane and well-founded to meet the level of standards that should be provided to all participants. Learn more about the ACC.
Members
Name Department Term Phone & Office Email
Jonathan Mee (Chair) Biology

2016/20 (4 years)

Term end: June 2020

Phone: 403.440.5150

Office: B344E

jmee@mtroyal.ca
Michael Quinn AVP, Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement Ex officio

Phone: 403.440.7017

Office: U269A

mquinn@mtroyal.ca
Melissa Deane Manager, Office of Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement Ex officio

Phone: 403.440.5081

Office: U265E

mdeane1@mtroyal.ca
Karen Atkinson-Leadbeater Psychology

2016/20 (4 years)

Term end: June 2020

Phone: 403.440.8442

Office: EA3066

 katkinsonleadbeater@mtroyal.ca
Melissa Cruz Biology

2016/20 (4 years)

Term end: June 2020

Phone: 403.440.5540

Office: B342A

mcruz@mtroyal.ca
Ron Leininger

Community Member, Consulting Veterinarian

2016/20 (4 years)

Term end: June 2020

Phone: 403.226.5522 rwleininger@gmail.com
Michelle Priest Community Member, Besurance Corporation

2016/20 (4 years)

Term end: June 2020

  miche.priest@gmail.com
Milena Radzikowska Information Design

2016/20 (4 years)

Term end: June 2020

Phone: 403.440.8941

Office: T275

mradzikowska@mtroyal.ca
Melanie Rathburn General Education

2016/20 (4 years)

Term end: June 2020

Phone: 403.440.8636

Office: B344I

 mrathburn@mtroyal.ca
Cordelia Snowdon Student Representative Vice-President, Academic, SAMRU

2016/20 (4 years)

Term end: June 2020

Phone: 403.440.6402 vpacademic@samru.ca
Priscilla Wamucii Office of Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement Ongoing

Phone: 403.440.8470

Office: U269B

pwamucii@mtroyal.ca
Raymond Yu Laboratory Safety Specialist

2017/21 (4 years)

Term end: June 2021

  ryu@mtroyal.ca

For more information about research and scholarship governance, please contact Associate Vice-President, Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement, Michael Quinn, at 403.440.7017 or mquinn@mtroyal.ca.