Research & Scholarship Governance

Research & Scholarship Governance

MRU Strategic Research Plan

Recognizing the critical role of research in meeting our mandate, Mount Royal University developed a five-year Strategic Research Plan in 2012. This inaugural planning document identified four key themes for scholarly activity:

  • Undergraduate Involvement in Research. The establishment of an undergraduate research culture at Mount Royal and the involvement of students in research activities wherever possible.
  • Community-Engaged Scholarship. To establish Mount Royal as one of the principal institutions in Canada engaging in mutually beneficial research partnerships with its external community.
  • The Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL). Mount Royal looks to become recognized across Canada and beyond for SoTL in terms of research and dissemination, application of scholarly results to teaching practices and faculty development.
  • Collaborative Research. To take advantage of Mount Royal’s longstanding highly collaborative culture and build new opportunities in and for interdisciplinary research across the University and beyond.

Research, scholarship and community engagement activity has grown significantly at MRU over the past five years and we are in the process of writing a new strategic research plan to guide us into the future. The new plan is being developed in consultation with our community and will align with the directions of the Institutional Strategic Plan and the forthcoming Academic Plan. 


Committees

Committee Charter 

Terms of Reference:
  • Review annually the Institution’s Strategic Research Plan and provide advice on its contents, objectives, and orientation
  • Consider and review, as required, existing research related policies and propose new one, if necessary, and provide advice on their content, interpretation, and implementation
  • Provide a forum where new research, scholarly initiatives and ideas can be discussed and reviewed in an inter-disciplinary context
  • Provide, through its members, an internal communication mechanism built on the existing institutional structure to broadly communicate information concerning research, funding opportunities, institutional research initiatives, and the like
  • Establish, as required, sub-committees to address emerging issues as they relate to research, creative, and scholarly activities and develop proposals for addressing them.

 Membership:

Name Department Phone Email
Michael Quinn
(Chair)
AVP, Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement 403.440.7017 mquinn@mtroyal.ca
Josh Bloos Finance Designate 403.440.5507  jbloos@mtroyal.ca
Meagan Bowler University Library 403.440.6086 mbowler@mtroyal.ca
Djordje Calic Student Representative    
Anupam Das  Faculty of Arts 403.440.6535  adas@mtroyal.ca
Melissa Deane Manager, Office of Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement 403.440.5081 mdeane1@mtroyal.ca
Ray De Paul Institute for Innovation and Entrepreneurship 403.440.8497 rdepaul@mtroyal.ca
Danah Duke Miistakis Institute 403.440.8444 dduke@mtroyal.ca
David Finch Faculty of Business and Communications 403.440.8784  dfinch@mtroyal.ca
Cynthia Gallop Chair, Human Research Ethics Board 403.440.6985 cgallop@mtroyal.ca
Tim Haney Centre for Community Disaster Research 403.440.8659 thaney@mtroyal.ca
Michael Huston Wellness Services 403.440.6263  mhuston@mtroyal.ca
Sonya Jakubec Centre for Child Well-being 403.440.6447  sjakubec@mtroyal.ca
David Ohreen Faculty of ADC and GenEd 403.440.6367 dohreen@mtroyal.ca
Jennifer Pettit Dean's Council Representative 403.440.5985 jpettit@mtroyal.ca
Jenni Scott Faculty of Science and Technology 403.440.8670  jescott@mtroyal.ca
Dwayne Sheehan GFC Member-at-Large 403.440.5148 dpsheehan@mtroyal.ca
James Stauch Institute for Community Prosperity 403.440.7055  jstauch@mtroyal.ca
Gladys Sterenberg Faculty of Health, Community and Education 403.440.8729 gsterenberg@mtroyal.ca
Alice Swabey University Library 403.440.7241 aswabey@mtroyal.ca
Connie Van Der Byl Institute for Environmental Sustainability 403.440.5030  cvanderbyl@mtroyal.ca
Michelle Yeo Institute for Scholarship of Teaching and Learning 403.440.6494 myeo@mtroyal.ca
TBD Student Representative    
Kathy Homer Recording Secretary 403.440.6731 khomer@mtroyal.ca

Committee Charter

The Scholarship Review Committee (SRC) reviews all institution-wide internal grant applications, makes decisions on ranking, and provides recommendations on funding to the AVP Research. The SRC also acts as a team of topic-specialist reviewers that may be called upon by the Grants Facilitator, the Human Research Ethics Board, or individual faculty (through Research Services), to review specific portions of applications. Committee members may also be called upon to review specific types of external calls where the institution is the manager of the funds, such as through AACTI or SSHRC Institutional Grants.

Membership:

Name Department Phone Email
Michael Quinn (Chair) AVP, Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement 403.440.7017 mquinn@mtroyal.ca
Melissa Deane Manager, Office of Research, Scholarship and
Community Engagement
403.440.5081 mdeane1@mtroyal.ca
Julia Johnson Recorder, Office of Research, Scholarship and
Community Engagement
403.440.6069 jljohnson@mtroyal.ca
TBA Arts 403.440.XXXX XXXXXX@mtroyal.ca
Carol Armstrong Science and Technology 403.440.8568 carmstrong@mtroyal.ca
Katherine Boggs Science and Technology 403.440.6645 kboggs@mtroyal.ca
Kendra Hart Bissett School of Business 403.440.8435 khart@mtroyal.ca
Emily Hutchison Arts  403.440.8458 ehutchison@mtroyal.ca
Ada Jaarsma Arts 403.440.8545 ajaarsma@mtroyal.ca
Enrique Lopez Teaching and Learning 403.440.6531 elopez@mtroyal.ca
Bev Mathison Health, Community and Education 403.440.8655 blmathison@mtroyal.ca
Kirk Niergarth Arts 403.440.6760 kniergarth@mtroyal.ca
Joseph Osuji Health and Community Education 403.440.6559 josuji@mtroyal.ca
David Ohreen General Education 403.440.8645 dohreen@mtroyal.ca
Cliff Spyker Bissett School of Business 403.440.6689 cspyker@mtroyal.ca
Gil Wilkes Communication Studies 403.440.8523 gwilkes@mtroyal.ca
Membership:
NameDepartmentPhoneEmail
Cynthia Gallop (Chair)Child Studies and Social Work403.440.6985 cgallop@mtroyal.ca
Malinda Desjarlais (HREB Vice-Chair and Chair for SHREC and Psychology Student Research Ethics Committee)Psychology403.440.8441 mddesjarlais@mtroyal.ca
Deb BennettGeneral Education403.440.8892dbennett@mtroyal.ca
Steve BurtonCommunity Member
Tsuut'ina Nation Police Service
403.251.9660steve.burton@tsuutinapolice.com
David CannPsychology403.440.8541dcann@mtroyal.ca
Lee EastonEnglish, Languages, and Cultures403.440.5906leaston@mtroyal.ca
Leah HamiltonBissett School of Business403.440.8548lhamilton@mtroyal.ca
Scott HughesEducation403.440.6342shughes@mtroyal.ca
Susan JacobySchool of Nursing and Midwifery403.440.8430sjacoby@mtroyal.ca
Lynne LafaveHealth and Physical Education403.440.5967lafave@mtroyal.ca
Sinclair MacRaeHumanities403.440.6543smacrae@mtroyal.ca
David OhreenGeneral Education403.440.8645dohreen@mtroyal.ca
Cordelia SnowdonSAMRU403.440.6402vpacademic@samru.ca
Stephanie StoneDiversity and Human Rights403.440.8675sstone@mtroyal.ca
Rachel SymeCommunity Member
CIHR Canadian Institutes of Health Research, University of Calgary
403.210.7204rmsyme@ucalgary.ca
Cheryl TechentinPsychology403.440.8535ctechentin@mtroyal.ca
Tanya TrusslerEconomics, Justice, and Policy Studies403.440.5526ttrussler@mtroyal.ca
Donovan TymchyshynCommunity Member
Vecova Centre for Disability Services and Research
403.284.1121dtymchyshyn@vecova.ca
Priscilla WamuciiResearch Compliance Officer403.440.8470

hreb@mtroyal.ca

  Ad Hoc Advisors  

Stacey Page
Chair, CHREB

University of Calgary Conjoint Health Research Ethics Board (CHREB)
 
 403.220.2763 sapage@ucalgary.ca

Michael Barr
Chief Information Officer

Information Technology Advisor403.440.7260mbarr@mtroyal.ca

John Fisher
Director, Iniskim Centre

Aboriginal Issues Advisor403.440.5668jfisher@mtroyal.ca
Membership:
NameDepartmentPhoneEmail
Malinda Desjarlais
(Chair)
Psychology403.440.8441mddesjarlais@mtroyal.ca
Harpreet AulakhEconomics, Justice, and Policy Studies403.440.5907haulakh@mtroyal.ca
Abdul ChikhouniBissett School of Business403.440.6707achikhouni@mtroyal.ca
Marty ClarkHealth and Physical Education403.440.6511mclark2@mtroyal.ca
Judy GleesonNursing and Midwifery403.440.5529jgleeson@mtroyal.ca
Brian GuthrieChild Studies and Social Work403.440.7087bguthrie@mtroyal.ca
Shannon KellHealth and Physical Education403.440.6493skell@mtroyal.ca
Bailey McCaffertyPsychology (Student)403.440.6412 bmcca469@mtroyal.ca
Monica PaulsChild Studies and Social Work403.440.8481mpauls@mtroyal.ca
Rachael PettigrewBissett School of Business403.440.6846rpettigrew@mtroyal.ca
Fredrick UlmerSociology and Anthropology403.440.6450fulmer@mtroyal.ca
Priscilla WamuciiResearch Compliance Officer403.440.8470hreb@mtroyal.ca
Name Email Contact Information Term
Mee, Jonathan
(Chair)
jmee@mtroyal.ca MRU, Dept. of Biology
Telephone: 403.440.5150
Office: B344E
2016/20 – 4 years
Term end: June 2020

Quinn, Michael

mquinn@mtroyal.ca MRU - Associate Vice-President
Office of Research, Scholarship
and Community Engagement (ORSCE)
Telephone: 403.440.7017
Office: U269A
 Ex officio
Deane, Melissa mdeane1@mtroyal.ca MRU - Manager, ORSCE
Telephone: 403.440.5081
Office: U265E
Ex officio
Atkinson-Leadbeater, Karen katkinsonleadbeater@mtroyal.ca MRU, Dept. of Psychology
Telephone: 403.440.8442
Office: EA3066
2016/20 – 4 years
Term end: June 2020
Cruz, Melissa mcruz@mtroyal.ca MRU, Dept. of Biology
Telephone: 403.440.5540
Office: B342A
2016/20 – 4 years
Term end: June 2020
Leininger, Ron rwleininger@gmail.com Community Member/Consulting Veterinarian
Telephone: 403.226.5522
2016/20 – 4 years
Term end: June 2020
TBD   Community Member
Telephone:
 
Priest, Michelle miche.priest@gmail.com Community Member
Besurance Corporation
2016/20 – 4 years
Term end: June 2020
Radzikowska, Milena mradzikowska@mtroyal.ca MRU, Dept. of Information Design
Phone: 403.440.8941
Office: T275
2016/20 – 4 years
Term end: June 2020
Rathburn, Melanie mrathburn@mtroyal.ca MRU, Dept. of General Education
Telephone: 403.440.8636
Office: B344I
2016/20 – 4 years
Term end: June 2020
Snowdon, Cordelia vpacademic@samru.ca Student Representative
Vice-President, Academic, SAMRU
Telephone: 403.440.6402
2016/20 – 4 years
Term end: June 2020
Wamucii, Priscilla pwamucii@mtroyal.ca MRU, ORSCE
Telephone: 403.440.8470
Office: U269B
Ongoing
We are here to help For more information about research and scholarship governance, please contact Associate Vice-President - Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement, Michael Quinn, at 403.440.7017 or mquinn@mtroyal.ca.