

RESEARCH AND SCHOLARSHIP COMMITTEE ANNUAL PLAN 2024-2025

Research and Scholarship Committee (RSC) Annual Plan for General Faculties Council 2024-2025

DATE: October 2, 2024

SUBMITTED BY: Connie Van der Byl, RSC Chair

PRIORITIZED SUMMARY OF PROJECTED ACTIVITIES AND OUTCOMES

Provide a forum where new research, scholarly initiatives and ideas can be discussed, reviewed in an interdisciplinary context (RSC Charter Responsibility 4.3).

We will discuss research issues/topics of interest to the Committee. This will include inviting guest speakers. Potential topics include: Resources; DORA; Research Security; EDIA for Researchers; REBX; HR processes and Research.

Establish, as required, subcommittees/work groups to address emerging issues as they relate to research, creative, and scholarly activities and develop proposals for addressing them. Provide advice on their content, interpretation and implementation (RSC Charter Responsibility 4.6).

- Community Engaged Research
- Research Data Management and Dissemination
- Research and Scholarship Days
- Undergraduate Research and Scholarship

Advise on the contents, objectives and orientation of the University's Strategic Research Plan and review annually (RSC Charter Responsibility 4.1).

Monthly review of the Research and Scholarship Plan for implementation progress. This review will include discussion of priorities, approaches, challenges and successes. Both actions and measures will be addressed.

Review existing research-related policies and proposed new ones, if necessary, and provide advice on their content, interpretation and implementation (RSC Charter Responsibility 4.2).

RSC will review changes to the following Research related policies and procedures:

- Animal Care
- Commercialization of Intellectual Property
- Intellectual Property
- Research Overhead and Indirect Costs
- Biosafety

SCHEDULE OF MEETINGS AND PROJECTED ACTIVITIES

- 1. October 2, 2024
- 2. November 6, 2024
- 3. December 11, 2024
- 4. February 26, 2025
- 5. April 2, 2025
- 6. April 30, 2025

COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

Connie Van der Byl	AVP, Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement, CHAIR
Trevor Day	GFC Academic Staff Member, VICE–CHAIR
Francine May	Designate for Dean, University Library
Melissa Deane	Director, Office of Research, Scholarship & Community Engagement
Lynne Lafave	Chair, Human Research Ethics Board
Kenna Olsen	Associate Dean/Vice Dean responsible for research
Ray DePaul	Institute/Centre Director
Samanti Kulatilake	Academic Staff Member (Arts)
Reza Chowdhury	Academic Staff Member (Business, Communication Studies & Aviation)
Katherine Bright	Academic Staff Member (Health, Community and Education) (Temporary replacement for Jared Fletcher – 2024-25)
Jeella Acedo	Academic Staff Member (Science and Technology)
Sara Sharun	Academic Staff Member (University Library) (Temporary replacement for Brian Jackson – Fall Term)
Isabella Carinelli	Student Representative
Annie Swenson	Student Representative
Resources	
Leah Hamilton	Associate Dean/Vice Dean responsible for research
Gwen O'Sullivan	Associate Dean/Vice Dean responsible for research
Mark Lafave	Associate Dean/Vice Dean responsible for research
Danah Duke	Institute/Centre Director
Lena Soots	Institute/Centre Director
Michelle Yeo	Institute/Centre Director
Kearon Nyandoro	Finance designate
Scott Corner	Marketing and Communications designate
Sheena Dyer	Assistant University Secretary, GFC, RECORDING SECRETARY

For additional information and meeting minutes, visit the RSC webpage.